Dear Colleagues

SAMHSA is pleased to announce a series of webinars around SAMHSA’s National Prevention Week (NPW) 2018, developed specifically to support organizations working on the front lines of prevention. Using this year’s NPW theme—Action Today. Healthier Tomorrow—our webinars provide technical assistance and resources to states, SAMHSA grantees, and local community-based organizations to raise awareness and educate their communities on various prevention topics during NPW, May 13–19.

The upcoming webinar, “Prevention After Trauma from Natural Disasters,” will examine how individuals who experience a traumatic event such as a major hurricane, earthquake, tornado, or other natural disaster may be more likely to have behavioral health issues or misuse substances. In this webinar, viewers will learn how individuals, organizations, and communities can help promote mental health and prevent substance misuse after trauma. The webinar will be held on Thursday, March 22, at 1 p.m. ET/12 p.m. CT/11 a.m. MT/10 a.m. PT.

 

Register to attend the webinar at this link https://cc.readytalk.com/r/jp1yrb2e3c2t&eom.

 

Mark your calendars for remaining webinars in our 2018 series:

  • Preventing Youth Marijuana Use—April 19, 2018
  • Partnering for Opioid Addiction Prevention—May 16, 2018

 

We hope you will join us for one or more of these webinars!